Because Your Daddy Loves You by Andrew Clements

because_daddy_loves_youBook: Because Your Daddy Loves You by Andrew Clements

Genre: Children, Parenting

Because Your Daddy loves you is a sweet little book about the little ways a parent shows love to their child–helping look for shoes instead of griping, playing with toys after a long day of work, or throwing a ball at the beach when he would really rather be napping in the sun.

I was really astounded by how many negative reviews there were for this book.  A bunch of parents felt like it was setting up unrealistic expectations and making kids think that if their parents didn’t do those things all the time, they weren’t loved or something, and a bunch more parents felt inadequate themselves.  I just didn’t see that at all.  Sure, the book was idealistic, and some of the situations were not things you would do everyday (As much as I love ice cream cones, they just can’t happen every day, I’m sorry!) but I don’t think the author was trying to send anybody on a guilt trip.  It was a cute story about a dad taking his kid to the beach for a special day out.  As a parent, I think it was a cute little reminder of the type of parent everybody wants to be.  Sometimes we do get busy, or bored, or complacent, and we do need little reminders about the parents we want to be.

So, it’s a cute story that makes you remember the magical moments of parenthood.  In an ordinary day of poopy diapers and petulant toddlers, what’s not to love about that?

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Leave a comment