BOOK REVIEW: Fragments by Dan Wells

Book: Fragments by Dan Wells

Genre: YA, Dystopian

Fragments is the 2nd book in the Partials Trilogy by Dan Wells.  You can read my review of the first book, Partials, here.

Fragments picks up where Partials left off, so if you haven’t read Partials yet but plan to, you’ll probably want to skip this review.  Unless you like spoilers.  Not going to lie, I sometimes do–like spoilers, that is–but that’s another topic for another day.

So, you’ve been warned.

After Kira discovers the cure for RM, she leaves Long Island in search of answers to a whole plethora of questions.  Will they survive?

That sounds like the weakest book description ever, but that really is the gist of the book.  Will. They. Survive?  Nobody knows.  If the Partials and talking dogs don’t kill them, it’s going to be acid rain.  Or maybe they’ll just die of starvation.  Like I said, WHO KNOWS!

That’s the beauty of this book.  Unlike many other popular YA trilogies, this one doesn’t just keep puddling along through the second installment, or, worse, lose momentum, it scoops you up and charges forward.

I was really impressed with Partials, and I remain impressed through Fragments.  That, y’all, is saying something.  I’ve begun to expect the 2nd book–particularly in trilogies–to be lackluster.  My expectations were happily dashed to the ground by this book.  I remain impressed.  *round of applause, please*

The characters developed, the action kept up, and (Praise God and Thank You Dan Wells!) the trite, overdone teenage love triangle was avoided.

I reiterate: if you like YA fiction or Dystopian or Sci-fi or any combination of the above–read this series!

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Leave a comment